LocationShelburne, VT
StatusPending Adoption

Guava is 3 years old, (approx. DOB 1-7-21), female, 60 lbs., vetted, is or will be spayed, and microchipped.

• I wouldn’t consider myself a Diva but I do like to be dressed up!
• I like easygoing and friendly dogs…but not anxious or alpha dogs! I did great in doggy play care where they match me up with dogs I like!
• I show interest with cats outside on walks and have definitely been interested but I don’t leash pull or bark at them. I’m not sure how I feel about cats; I don’t have a focused prey drive.
• I LOVE all people and can excitedly jump up when greeting. Sometimes I am not aware of my size and energy when playing so smaller kids might not be a fit for me, but I have always loved kids. I am patient and is very smart when it comes to learning how to play with kids.
• When I am in the mood to zoom, watch out I am a freight train…but mostly I am happy lounging around while my humans work from home, waiting for walks and food and love!
• I am very socially outgoing…I like to immediately make friends with everyone new! I don’t bark when company arrives and after a greeting, I will relax quickly (right on a new person’s lap if they’ll have me)
• I seem to fall in love with some people over others; I am friendly to all but really lean into some of my favorite human species. I don’t have a preference for any gender and ok with men of a variety of ages/heights.
• I don’t need another dog, but I’d be ok with a buddy if they were easygoing/submissive; I like being the head doggo
• I can be overconfident from a distance (I want to meet them all) but I can be anxious up close. As long as the other dog is relaxed, I relax. Like many dogs, I’m not great at assessing dogs with my eyes!
• I am potty trained, and crate trained but I don’t like it BUT when my humans give me lots of treats in it and I always go right in
• In the house I will take shoes and stuffed animals, but I don’t harm those; I just make my humans find them in the living room a little slobbery. I love that game!
• I haven’t been possessive of food or anything!
• I am not currently left at home alone much, maybe a few hours at a time on weekends. I don’t like it when they leave (I also can get stressed at night with noises like the wind)
• The only time I express myself is when I’m left alone in a crate; I don’t like it but what can a dog do??
• I get to sleep on my futon in a room by myself at night (at least until I scratch to let my humans know I want to go out in the morning. I only do that to fool them so I can get in their bed after until they wake up for real!
• I might be a counter-surfer, especially if pizza is involved; yum yum! I don’t like it when my humans sit in “my” chair; stink eye may ensue lol.
• I know Sit and Crate already!
• I know I look so serious, but I really am a love bug who just wants to make my people happy. I LOVE long walks,
• Best in the busy City or rural calm or doesn’t matter? She’d be fine in any although she would like a place where she could run and wasn’t alone much.
• I would love a home that is a busy family house where lots of people are around to pet me or with someone who will be my very own special human that I can boss (I mean follow) around all day, with room to stretch my legs and run
• My humans feed me once a day, but I eat whenever I want (often when they’re eating but not always). I would love a good walk every day. Guess what?? I started doing short jogs with my older kid human sister and love it!
• Apparently, I am almost too treat motivated… Why can’t a girl get soooo excited to get a treat?! I may sometimes kind to forget what I’m doing when I see treats. But they say I am really such a good girl who knows when I’ve done something I shouldn’t, and I learn quickly because I just want to please.
• PS – I Love to play but am quick to switch to human snuggles!!

If you are interested in adopting Guava please fill out an Application.

Please note Fosters have 1st option of Adoption.

  • Friendly
  • I'm Good With Other Dogs
  • I Like Kids
  • I'm Good With Cats